One hundred posts already!

I’m both amazed and amazingly pleased that this blog has hit the 100th post already – just over two months from the first post. Much of the kudos for this has got to go to co-writer Mistyfan, of course, who has written many posts about individual stories and issues, and who has been able to supply many scans that I’ve used along the way too. It’s been really motivational for me to know that there’s been someone else out there just as interested and passionate as me, but even more active, asking me when I plan to finish a certain post, story, or interview.

It also looks like there’s starting to be some fruitful collaborative discussion on the blog comments, which I’m also very grateful for and would love to see more of. This is a good cue to ask readers what you would like to see more of (or, even, what you might want to see less of!) I am planning one story post to come quite soon, and thereafter some more on individual creators and on issues. My next few posts, though, are likely to be about analytical ways of looking at stories from Jinty and other similar comics. I hope that these different ways of looking at stories and issues will help to show what it means to say a particular story is bonkers and extreme, and will give some structure to ideas that Jinty differs (or is similar to) from other comics in this way or that way. At the same time, I expect that Mistyfan will continue to feed us on story posts and issue posts, the staple of this blog.

Please do comment, though. Is there a particular story you are intrigued about and would like to know more on? Or one of the Jinty creators you want showcased sooner rather than later? Or some change in the frequency of posting, the way we structure the posts, the way the site hangs together, the way you can or can’t find material? I’d really like to know. And of course – many thanks go to you too, for reading!

21 thoughts on “One hundred posts already!

  1. Congratulations on the 100th post! I for one really enjoy this site and all the articles about Jinty and all the stories, writers and artists. It’s an excellent site and thanks for all the dedication in putting Jinty on the web!

  2. Congratulations on your century! I have really enjoyed reading this blog so thank you both.

    I have a question but I have no idea if it’s something you were planning on discussing… I was wondering how Jinty the comic established a ‘personality’ that was Jinty, if indeed it did. (I’m thinking of a girl persona, called Jinty… the way there was definitely a recognizable ‘Bunty’ who often appeared on the cover of that comic, and a recognizable ‘Misty’ on the comic that bears her name.) I’m thinking of the way we attribute certain traits to the British girls’ comics, and the fact that they have a girl’s name as the title, encouraging us to think of the comic as ‘her’. And if not a visible character, then perhaps a mood that was definitely ‘Jinty’?
    Anyway, perhaps that’s not relevant to the purpose of your blog…also, sorry if it’s been addressed and I’ve somehow missed it! Congratulations again!

    1. It’s certainly a relevant question, if not one I have had any thoughts about before. I have noticed that Mistyfan talks of Jinty as ‘her’ – I don’t, myself, and I don’t really think of the comic as having the same sort of persona as Misty did. There are some early issues of the comic where a persona is used, but most of the time there is talk of ‘the editor’ not of ‘me’. I was certainly aware of a mood or style that is Jinty rather than Misty or Tammy or whatever other title, but I think also my loyalty to the comic was down to the specific stories too.

      I don’t know how much it might be that I felt differently about it than other girls my age, because I lived outside of the UK for a lot of my childhood and the issues were kept for me by my grandparents; every so often a whole load came out to me as we got visitors coming to where we lived. So I never really talked to other girls who also read Jinty, or swopped issues of one comic with another one or anything.

  3. How about more discussion of the artists? That is something that’s been a bit lacking lately. I also hope for more discussion of the background and development of Jinty, subject to interviews and availability for interview.

    1. I would love to cover both of those things – the discussion of artists will certainly come, though I acknowledge it has taken a bit of a back seat recently. As for information on the background and development of Jinty, I didn’t have any immediate success on contacting original writers who might also have been able to give information on editorial policies, but there are some addresses passed on to me by Terry Magee which may yet yield results.

  4. It has been my experience that girls’ comics titles are often referred to as “she”. I think this is because they have feminine names and there would be a female present who bears the name of the comic. This would range from brunette Mandy and blond Bunty to the long haired woman and gown who is Misty.

    Sometimes they did not appear that much or were hardly present at all. I think there was someone in Jinty who was meant to be Jinty. It may have been the girl sucking the pencil who starts off Jinty’s “Bits and Pieces”, who does have a hairstyle similar to the girl we see in “Rinty and Jinty”. But she did not have the presence that Misty, Mandy or Bunty did in their own comics because she was nowhere near used to the extent that they were. Nonetheless, I still think of Jinty as “she” rather than “it”.

    1. Congrats on 100th post. I’ve been really enjoying the site especially as I’m less familiar with IPC titles. I liked the Jinty Sampler as an overview of how the comic changed over the years, so I look forward to more analytical posts 🙂

      1. I’m glad of the vote for the analytical pieces, too! It’s something I don’t see other people doing, so I hope that it is interesting as filling a bit of a gap.

    2. Thank you both for your detailed thoughts on that query! (I wondered because, as I knew Jinty mostly through annuals, and there are a variety of cover ‘girls’ who differ in appearance, I couldn’t judge if one of them was supposed to represent Jinty.) Thanks for all your great info about Jinty so far – it’s really an excellent resource.

      1. I would say that the cover girls on Jinty summer specials / annuals etc definitely are really just representing the reader and not a Jinty character; as you say, the variety of appearance indicates that, but also the lack of sustained talk about Jinty as a character in the rest of the comic (except for just at the very beginning of publishing the title).

  5. Congrats on your first hundred! I hope you are pacing yourselves as I’d hate for you to overdo it.

    I’ve always thought that the prime three IPC girls comics, Tammy, Misty, and Jinty, have distinct personalities. It’s in the style of the stories they tell, as well as the subject matter, but often it’s cumulative. There are lots of individual stories I’ve found in early Tammy that don’t really fit the Tammy style, but it’s still there in the background. Jinty begins almost as a Tammy clone, with stories like Make Believe Mandy, which is pure Tammy, but it soon picks up its own style.

    1. We’ll try to pace ourselves! 🙂

      I totally agree about the distinct personalities of those three titles, in the style of the stories they tell as well as the subject matter. I think style is quite hard to analyse other than getting a feel for it by lots of reading; subject matter is a bit easier to break down, probably. What you say about Make-Believe Mandy is interesting – can you point to anything in it that makes you categorise it as ‘pure Tammy’? I don’t think I have a good enough handle on Tammy’s feel and style myself to answer that.

      1. In her early days Tammy was a pioneer on darkness, cruelty and tormenting her heroines, often in over the top ways. We see kids being used as slave labour, schools that treat their pupils in sadistic ways, and girls being treated like Cinderella. The template for the last was Little Miss Nothing. And girls lapped it up! As it was successful, it makes sense that the early Jinty would follow it too, to be sure her launch was a success. Slave of the Trapeze, which was written for Tammy, appeared in Sandie, and its popularity showed the success of the formula there too.

        So stories like Merry at Misery House, Make Believe Mandy and Valley of Shining Mist are the sorts of things that would not be out of place in the early Tammy. Some of them might even have been meant for Tammy, just as Slave of the Trapeze was.

  6. It’s the first episode that gets me, when the family drive off to the spoilt daughter’s birthday party without even bothering to tell Mandy that she’s not invited. It’s so unnecessarily mean. But the basic set up of spoilt daughter and nice daughter who all the family hates but who has a secret talent is pretty much Tammy by numbers.

    1. Perhaps then some comics had a template or templates that were quite tight – not just a story of family rivalry and tension, but a nice daughter-nasty daughter rivalry, which is more specific.

      You’re right, that first episode is just mean – but it’s also setting up the fact that Mandy doesn’t even realise that she is being snubbed, or is only coming to realise it. I bet they’ve been doing that sort of thing to her for ages! It’s real, proper emotional abuse; but the writing is also coding Mandy as “too nice to realise how horrible they’re being”, ie unrealistically nice. That feels to me like quite a Tammy thing to include in a story, too.

      1. Yes, you’re right. A lot of Tammy girls are nice to the point of extreme gullibility, falling for the same tricks from the same people over and over.

        1. It is not just Tammy where girls are gullible but other girls’ comics too. One of the most gullible characters I have ever seen is ‘Mouse’ in the Kat and Mouse Game from Jinty. Mouse is so gullible in the way she keeps falling for the tricks that Kat plays on her (at first to take advantage of her and then get her expelled) that I did not find her a very sympathetic character. Mind you, I was still eager to see Kat get caught out, of course.

          One Bunty story, ‘April Fool’, had a lot of fun with the gullibility issue. Its protagonist was a girl called April Mason who is nicknamed April Fool because “she’ll believe anything, anything!” And they mean ANYTHING! As a result, April is the butt of a lot of pranks. The blurb for the opening episode said that the writer was dedicating this story to someone they knew at school – and were still trying to forget!

  7. As a Fleetway/IPC editorial veteran, I would say that Jinty is very ‘Mavis Miller'(the Editor). Mavis had ‘BBC Reith’ values of educate while you entertain that showed more in her previous editorsip of June & School Friend. And before that she’d worked
    on the Radio Times. Each comic really did reflect Mavis herself.
    Whereas the Scottish bunch – Gerry Finley-Day(Tammy) John Wagner(Sandie) and Pat Mills(English but very Celtic) – were just out for sheer entertainment often with black and cruel humour. They all had a much harder edge to them.
    I was more in the Mavis camp.

    1. I agree (from what I’ve seen) that Mavis Miller really was in the educate & entertain camp – just look at the features in the comic too, from recipes and handicrafts to sensible advice and points of view. Pat has specifically spoken before now about how a lot of the writers were young men pushing each other to write ever more ridiculous stories and wetting themselves with laughter at the extremes they were going to – understandable in many ways (and that camp extreme humour is part of what often still intrigues the reader to this day), but harder as you say. I’m quite glad there was a mix, actually, looking back on it.

Leave a Reply

